Faberge Egg Gift

12twelve

The first time I heard about the Faberge Eggs, I was very curious. I couldn’t help but think how eggs can be worth so much, what was all this hype about a jeweled egg. I then became very fascinated with the history behind the eggs which then led me to see the eggs more deeply. The very first egg made was by Viktor Vekselberg, called the Hen Egg. It was made for Alexander’s wife Maria because it reminded her of her homeland. The Hen Egg is described as “a hen of gold and rose diamonds taking sapphire egg out of a nest”. This egg was gold with hundreds of rose cut diamonds. The detail that is put into each egg is remarkable. My favorite egg out of the collection is the Twelve Monograms.

The Twelve Monograms is dark blue enamel with red and gold lining and diamonds. The colors remind me of the eighteenth century, very royal. This egg is broken into six panels with rose cut diamonds and both Alexander and Maria’s initials imprinted into crowns. To me, this symbols the love and commitment they had for each other.

I chose to do the Faberge Egg collection because each egg is unique. There is no color scheme or repeat egg in the whole collection. They are all unique and decorated to the emotion and what was going on in the lives of Alexander and Maria. The craftsmanship is remarkable. Each egg took between six months to one year to make. They are made of different materials, proportions and coatings to keep the colors just right. Every time I look at the different eggs, I try to imagine what it would be like to see one in person. The pictures give that right amount of detail to where the lines cross and meet, but in person you would be able to see how the lines put together. Not only are the eggs in egg form but they have clocks, towers, carriages and pictures all together to form the piece of art. They open up and in the inside is a gold hen. The attention to the detail is a must. Over the 33 years of making the eggs, the Faberge Egg collection came up with over 140 different shades. The oyster enamel was the most prized color.

This link will take you into the background information behind the Faberge Eggs and explain story of Alexander and Maria.  Another good link here.

  • What holiday comes to mind when looking at the Faberge Eggs? Why?
  • Have you been inspired to design your own art work and continue it year after year?
  •  Which Faberge Egg is your favorite? What draws you to it?

Erika Kryger

 

 

15 thoughts on “Faberge Egg Gift

  1. I think these are beautiful! They remind me of Christmas because of the meaning behind them can be so important. Each one has different designs that convey emotion and a story behind them (Easter also comes to mind because of them being an egg shape). As for my own art, I have done a few projects that involve the pass of time that require me to keep going back to them. They are inspirational because of the story of time and change. This is my favorite egg http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cb/Faberg%C3%A9_egg_with_pattern_and_gold_stand.jpg. It has beautiful shades of green with small accents of pink in the flowers. The gold around it brings all the colors together. I think the simplicity of the egg is what draws me to it the most and I can see why you were so interested in learning about them!

    • Emily,
      The two Holidays that came to my mind when hearing about the Faberge Egg collection was also Christmas and Easter. Any project/artwork that is personal and dealing with your own timeframe in life is beautiful. Thank you for the picture of the egg you like. The colors are beautiful together. And the roses are a great touch. All of the eggs are presents and presents themselves. What I mean by that is they are beautiful just to see and even more beautiful to receive as a gift. Hope you enjoyed looking at them!

      Thanks

  2. The history of these eggs is a beautiful story. Who would think a man presenting a jeweled egg to his wife as a gift would begin a tradition that has produced the most eloquent pieces I have seen. I like the Lilies of the Valley. That one gives me a wedding feel. How the small pearls are wrapped around it is simply stunning. I love that is sits on a pedestal. The pastel coloring is really beautiful. I would love to see the painting process. I learned in your post that these were designed to be a jeweled Easter egg. Are you able to personally purchase these? I appreciate the thought and detail that has to go into something so small. Especially the egg with the fur lining. What small masterpieces. If they are this beautiful through pictures, I can’t imagine how beautiful they would be in person.

    • I would never have imagined a man behind these beautiful artwork, Also, that he was so thoughtful and continued to make them year after year for his wife. That is a great love story. Anytime I see pearls, I immediately think of weddings, I wore them when I got married. 🙂 I believe you are able to purchase them, I do not have a definite answer at this time but I will look into it. I know these are displayed in museums all over the world. I would love to see what these look like in person. Hopefully one day I will have the chance too.

      Thank you, and hope you found these eggs interesting!

  3. This is a very interesting article. The details on these eggs is absolutely stunning, especially with the expensive material it is made.It is interesting to know how these eggs started in Russia for the Russian royal families. These eggs loosely remind me of Easter because they are eggs and they remind me of Christmas because they could be used as gifts. I have not been inspired by any artistic goal yet because it has not crossed my mind as much, but I do plan on starting something artistic in the future where if I succeed to a certain level, I might end up pursuing it. I really like the Bay Tree Egg of 1913 because I love the green color on it and I like how it has its own platform to stand on. It looks extra fancy to me. Interesting blog, I never knew that eggs could be worth millions

    • It is not hard to believe the egg pictured above is worth millions. The contrasting colors of blue, red, and gold make the egg stand out and very visually appealing while the diamond lining add an luxurious look. Having the egg be a gift from Alexander himself to his wife also adds tremendous value to this art. This was a good post for valentines day. I think what makes this piece truly interesting is the simplicity of the shape combined with a complex design. You can tell that a tremendous amount of time and effort went into perfecting every small detail in each egg. The Hen Egg reminds me of Easter and I find it interesting that the artist would also take the time to design a chicken to go along with the egg. This was a really cool post i found it very intriguing!

    • Trust me when I say this, I never knew eggs could be worth so much either. When I first heard about these eggs, I didn’t pay to much attention to them because I was younger, but as I got older, I learned to appreciate them and started viewing this form of expression as artwork. The Bay Tree egg has a very beautiful color. I hope you enjoyed looking at the Faberge Egg collection!

      Thank you

  4. It is not hard to believe the egg pictured above is worth millions. The contrasting colors of blue, red, and gold make the egg stand out and very visually appealing while the diamond lining add an luxurious look. Having the egg be a gift from Alexander himself to his wife also adds tremendous value to this art. This was a good post for valentines day. I think what makes this piece truly interesting is the simplicity of the shape combined with a complex design. You can tell that a tremendous amount of time and effort went into perfecting every small detail in each egg. The Hen Egg reminds me of Easter and I find it interesting that the artist would also take the time to design a chicken to go along with the egg. This was a really cool post i found it very intriguing!

  5. The Faberge eggs greatly remind me of the Ukrainian Easter eggs. They are real eggs that are coated in dye and candle wax is used to bring color and design. The Faberge eggs are beautifully crafted and show the true dedication and craftsmanship of the maker. My favorite out of the collection would have to be the Hen egg because of its simplicity and serene design.

  6. I love the romantic nature of how the tradition began; the Tzar having the eggs commissioned for his wife and then their son continuing the tradition for his wife and then his mother after the death of his father. I like what Quentin said about “simplicity of the shape combined with a complex design.” It’s incredible to me to see such true dedication to a vision. It does seem that the “egg” or egg shape is used in many cultures in different creative ways. I definitely think of Easter but also the ornaments of Christmas. I’m not sure I could have a favorite because of how exquisite each one is but because they are all so ornate, I think I like the Winter Egg because of its contrast. It has such an elegance.

  7. I couldn’t take my eyes off this amazing art “Feberge Egg”. In my opinion the egg symbolizes
    something very precious and meaningful. It symbolizes the beginning of life. For many living
    organisms eggs are the first stage of life. Also the Feberge Eggs remind me of Easter, and definitely inspire me to be more creative with Easter eggs. My favorite egg from the collection
    is “Lily of the Valley” because it expresses a feeling of spring and freshness.

  8. The Feberge Eggs reminds me most definitely of Easter, especially because they were or are given as a gift and I thought about Easter baskets and how they have eggs in the baskets with other gifts, usually candy! This is an awesome work of art, I never heard of these and learning about them today was very interesting!

  9. The first two holidays that come to mind for me are valentines say and Christmas. Valentines day comes to mind because the king is giving them to his queen bevause he loves herson and that’s what valentines day is all about. Christmas came to mind because tjey remind me of ornaments that are really detailed and would cost a lot of money.

  10. I like the eggs, they are a work of art. They’re not just really expensive but the way Faberge made them is unique. To create a theme in each of them and have the mastery to combine different stones and metals takes outstanding skill creating something that seems out of this world. I’ve enjoyed looking at the eggs and learning a bit about their history.

Leave a Reply

