Levels

Levels

When I was young I looked at the world in many different ways that people didn’t understand. I fought back and didn’t go with the system. Growing up in Detroit was not as glorious as you might think-wink wink. Then I joined the Marine Corp at the age of 17. No more fighting out loud occurred. This is when the internal battles would come out. This piece reflects the ever change in the ways we as humans are changed. How sometimes the different levels feel like they are just going to pop out at you and scream. We find this pain inside of us that just wants to outburst but in that same breathe we are able to take it to a cool and calming place. This might be because the color of red shows anger. But it also shows energy, passion, and action.
I chose these colors carefully when this was made due to the fact I wanted to emboss myself into the image through color. These are the reasons that red and green are the major colors.

1. Having a personality color red identifies you as extroverted and optimistic, courageous and confident. You are action oriented and physically active – sex is a necessity to you – you have strong survival instincts. With the color red, you like to be the center of attention – in fact all reds crave attention – other people are drawn to the vitality and sense of excitement you emit.

2. With a personality color green you are a practical, down-to-earth person with a love of nature. You are stable and well balanced or are striving for balance – in seeking this balance, you can at times become unsettled and anxious. Having a personality color green means you are kind, generous and compassionate – good to have around during a crisis as you remain calm and take control of the situation until it is resolved.

One of the other colors that are in this is actually my favorite color blue. As you see this is only portrayed in a very small portion due to the fact that the favorite/best parts about us are often not celebrated. We create this negative self-image in today’s society. Instead of striving to be a better person internally we fight the surface.

  • What effect does this take on your awareness?
  • What do the colors represent to you?
  • What do you dislike about this explanation or image?

Bradley Setter

23 thoughts on “Levels

  1. I believe colors are a great way to express our emotions. I think you did a great job in explaining clearly what each color meant to you. Red is a really powerful color giving the benefit of the doubt of what it could really mean according to the situation. Art by itself it’s a great way to express ourselves. By adding colors it makes it look more vivid, it gives it life. It also makes you wonder why those certain colors where used? What is the real meaning behind the art?

  2. I loved your post. This post is actually one of the those ” more you know” artworks. I never actually knew that the colors represented personality trpost sure throughout this whole reading I found it as a horoscope kind of feeling. This would be why the reason when I always check my horoscope it has the color green. You are right the colors green and red are used a lot in famous artworks I never understood it but I am sure it related to this.
    I had always thought colors ment emotions such as red represents anger, Green repersents envy, blue represents cool and so on. Again great post surely was the more you know (:

  3. Very interesting post. The colors in this image are very vibrant and show a strong form of expression through color. The squared patterns are interesting, as well as the red color merging with parts of the green. I feel as if the color that represents me is most likely gray, the fact that I am straight to the point, direct, and don’t care much for detail, designs, colors, etc. For example, when it comes to clothing, i prefer a shirt with no designs, letters or numbers whatsoever. It sounds a bit bland but i like to keep things simple, and that’s why i feel gray probably suits me. Maybe even white. I don’t know. There was nothing I did not like about the explanation for this image, everything was in detail, and made it a bit more interesting.

  4. I really enjoyed reading this personal post about yourself. I like how the red is slowly starting to merge into the green symbolizing as if you were changing as a person. I felt as though I could really connect to when you said “We find this pain inside of us that just wants to outburst but in that same breath we are able to take it to a cool and calming place”. This piece really expresses what you feel and it is composed perfectly. I think you should keep doing what you do and continue making artwork like this, it’s great.

  5. Brad, what an interesting art topic. It is visually stunning. The colors are vibrant and made me spend an inordinate amount of time studying it. The color red strikes me. To me it exudes energy and action. Your explanation of color personalities, at first, made me think that I am a red but after thinking it through a bit more, I decided I am definitely more of a green. This is certainly thought provoking as we do seem to live in a “negative self-image” society.

    I was intrigued with your descriptions of what different colors mean, and I did a little research to learn more. I found this explanation particularly interesting:

    http://www.finearttips.com/2009/08/use-the-hidden-meaning-of-color-in-your-art/

    Thank you for bucking that trend with your thoughts and work!

  6. Brad, good job with the imagery and symbolism, especially translating the meanings of the colors. In any interpretive process the meaning taken away says as much about the piece as it does the person doing the interpreting. Balance between polar opposites and a focus on inner peace in the face of conflict is a vivid explanation of this piece that obviously means a lot to you.

    For me personally the meaning of the color green would have to include growth.

    Do you have/own this piece? You said you chose the colors when it was made-did you make it? I’d love to see the piece and learn more about how it was produced.

    Thanks Brad

  7. Hey Lupe again, brad I did not know that this artwork was yours. Is it yours? Very much impressed if it is. However i have a question, as i was looking very closely at the image i realized that it appeared to be an image of a small child looking away to the opposite direction. Was this you when you were younger? I go off by what Matthew said I also would like to see the before shot. And colors really do have a meaning The link that Al posted was very helpful i found one too that even describes more colors http://www.incredibleart.org/lessons/middle/color2.htm
    this piece of art reminds me of the mood ring.
    great work and keep it up(:

  8. This piece is incredible! I can’t wait to hear more about it on Thursday! I would say I probably have more of a green personality. I find myself trying to “find balance” in my life a lot.. sometimes causing anxiety, like you mentioned, but at the same time I am someone that my friends will come to in a panic looking for answers because I am so calm. Like a lot of people, there are also hints of red in my personality, but I would have to say majority of my personality leans towards green. Thanks for the post Brad!

  9. What a completely interesting and excellent work of art and description–thanks for sharing it with us. I’d be interested to see the source image–you did such good work manipulating it. Were you interested in creating art before you entered the military?

  10. I love the use of complementary colors in this piece it makes the images stand out on the page. I see a young child sleeping and their dreams taking them away to another world. Green not only being my favorite color, I am a green almost all the way threw. Love fishing hiking etc I work in a field were we I must remain calm during high pressure situations.

  11. Brad I love that you made this yourself-it’s amazing!
    I think it is interesting that you said that blue was your favorite, yet it is only a small part of the piece. I think you are right, we often hide our true feelings or passions from the world in order to fit in. For example, I would never really identify with red, yet there are times when I portray red characteristics in order to fit in.

  12. This is one great piece of artwork. Before reading your post, I was ready to find out about some famous creative artist living in New York, displaying his art such as this one in galleries or something, but as soon as it was clear that this was yours, I was beyond impressed. This piece is very loud to me and speaks clearly of what you are trying to portray. I feel the gentle blend of ths greens and reds speaks also of changing who you are at different times of your life. Yes, everyone has a primary personality but I feel like at certain parts of our lives we unknowingly change accordingly to a situation. I dislike nothing of the explanation or image, but would love to know exactly why you chose this image of a baby (if it’s not, that’s what it looks like to me). Even though I feel I already have a good idea of it, I would like to hear it from you.

  13. I really lie this piece for multiple reasons. I love the green in it and how the red and the very little blue pops out. This picture looks like a little kid with a frowny face and i believe that green represents him the most. There is nothing i really dislike about the picture. I believe that a sense of red does scream for attention especially in this picture.

  14. I love the colors in this piece along with your reasoning behind them. You didnt piont out that the picture is a baby, though. I feel like that is a vital role in this piece. I think that the baby kinda plays into what you say. Like its trying to say that you are born with those feels and thats just who you are.

  15. I’m really excited to see someone’s work of art on this blog that is made from someone in our class. The way you described how you see color and how it was used was a completely different take than I’ve ever heard in my art classes and otherwise. I knew that with the way color is used (such as for vibrancy, intensity, or the simplicity of it depending on the picture) catches the eye and could mean something different for every person that sees the artwork. When I saw this I felt it was “futuristic” and it made me think of computers and technology from the visual texture that was used in this piece. I loved the new information of color from a different point of view. I remembered it could relate to personality (like blue is for loving and caring), but I never went into too much detail with it. Great Blog!

  16. Great post Brad, it’s interesting to see your own art as opposed something by a famous artist. I love how you used colors to represent your own personality traits. Especially how you used defined the color blue. If I was to create something like this, I probably would have used a similiar color scheme as you but maybe with a little less red.

    I appreciate how personal you were with your artwork and post.

  17. Brad, I really liked this post! This piece can be interpreted in so many ways. I love what you said about red being a sort of “wilder” side and green being your “compassionate” side. It really puts an image to the unique personality traits one has. The touch of blue, for me, brings a tiny but necessary contrast to the picture. I love how you related that tiny contrast to the lack of celebration our favorable traits get. Very well done.

  18. Awesome post! The one color that stood out to me was red. I believe you defined it as “extroverted and optimistic, courageous and confident”. what i saw from the color red and what i generally think when I see the color red is blood, death, or sadness. Loved the explanations and this was a great post, well done!

  19. I thought this was a very interesting post. I never knew the color represents and shows different thoughts and feelings. When I see the colors red and green all I can think of is Christmas. For some reason I associate those colors with Christmas. Maybe because of the Christmas tree and Santa colors are the red and green, though your thoughts about these colors has opened my eyes.

  20. The explanation you gave as to how you interpreted this art was interesting due to the fact that you completely connected with this. The first thing I though of when I saw this was the bars that move up and down to the beat of the music. Then I thought of in hospitals how they have a persons heart rate going up and down on the monitor, and I realized this artwork truly means much more than what captures the eye. in every day life we are going to experience ups and downs in all aspects of life and i feel like the levels do a great job of capturing the fact that we are emotional beings and are affected by things around us and constantly changing and interacting.

  21. I like the way how you related your emotions with the colors. This warm and bright picture shows the aggression you have in you. I relate colors with things, emotions or people too. For instance whenever i think of a new born baby girl a soft light baby pink color comes to my mind. To me that particular pink color represents the incense of a baby.

  22. This is such a striking visual image. When I first saw it, I thought it was an album (CD) cover or something like that. I think it is really cool that you can tell it is a baby, but yet the use of colors makest it unpredictable. It was very interesting to hear the story behind it and how it came about. I really think this piece has a lot of visual impact; do you have any more pieces that you have done?

  23. I find this piece very unusual but true. I believe that art itself is created in different levels if you are being technical about it. There are different levels of life just like there is different levels of personality, which leads me to the colors. Brad describes the colors red and green as the complete opposites of one another. That could describe this child’s personality in this picture. To some degree or another I feel that everyone has two personalities or should I say two different colors that describes them. This image has personality written all over it.

Leave a Reply

